Menu Icon Menu Icon Arrow Icon Arrow Icon Plus Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Minus Icon HFF Logo HFF Logo
  • VFX 2

    / 2

  • VFX

    / 2

Chair: Digital Effects

VFX Is a Perfectly Normal Film Production Craft

At HFF Munich, VFX is already an integral part of our digital postproduction curriculum (under the supervision of Christoffer Kempel). For our new VFX chair, the University has added a professor recruited straight from the industry, for official on-campus consultation.

One objective is to show our students that VFX need not be a costly or complicating matter. For some projects, digital retouching can often be simpler than completely re-assembling or altering a set. Visual effects have become so well-established that their role, in many film projects, is as essential as that of the makeup department, set design, or lighting. Because, beyond a certain point, the visual effects help tell the story. Our students should learn to consider the potential of VFX from the very start of their film projects.

Our course offerings include a mandatory elective week, during which our students focus exclusively on Visual Effects. Each day of this week is dedicated to a different aspect of Visual Effects, such as Producing, Supervising, or Concept Arts. Regardless of whether students are budding producers or directors, they need to know how Visual Effects work.

HFF Munich is committed to teaching all the visual effects needed for live-action filmmaking – not only for fiction films, but also for documentaries and commercials.

(The text above includes excerpts from an interview with Prof. Michael Coldewey published in the Film News Bayern Blog. To read the complete interview, click here).

Menu Icon Menu Icon Arrow Icon Arrow Icon Plus Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Minus Icon
  • VFX 2

    / 2

  • VFX

    / 2

Lehrstuhl VFX

VFX ist ein ganz normales Filmgewerk

In dem Bereich für digitale Postproduktion (betreut von dem Mitarbeiter Christoffer Kempel), in dem VFX bereits intergriert ist, wurde VFX bereits an der HFF München gelehrt. Mit dem Lehrstuhl VFX ist nun ein Professor vor Ort, an den man sich offiziell wenden kann und der aus der Industrie in die Hochschule kommt.

Den Studenten soll vermittelt werden, dass VFX nicht - wie oft angenommen - teuer und aufwendig sein muss. Es kann sogar sein, dass Retuschen bei Projekten oft einfacher sind, als ein Set komplett neu aufzubauen oder zu verändern. Die Visual Effects haben sich so stark etabliert, dass sie bei vielen Filmprojekten den gleichen Stellenwert wie die Maske, die Ausstattung oder das Licht haben. Denn ab einem gewissen Grad helfen die Visual Effects, die Geschichte zu erzählen. Die Studenten sollen lernen, dass bei Filmprojekten von vornherein die Möglichkeiten des VFX mitgedacht werden soll.

Im Vorlesungsverzeichnis ist eine Wahl/Pflicht-Woche für die Studenten vorgesehen, in der sich ausschließlich mit Visual Effects beschäftigt wird. In dieser Woche wird an jedem Tag ein Schwerpunkt aus den Visual Effects thematisiert, beispielsweise Producing, Supervising oder Concept Arts. Die Studenten, ob angehender Produzent oder angehende Regisseurin, müssen wissen, wie Visual Effects funktionieren.

An der HFF München sollen die Visual Effects gelehrt werden, die dem Realfilm dienen: Nicht nur dem Spielfilm, sondern auch dem Dokumentarfilm und der Werbung.

(o.s. Texte sind in Auszügen aus dem Interview von Prof. Michael Coldewey übernommen, das im Film News Bayern Blog erschienen ist. Das komplette Interview ist hier nachzulesen.)