Menu Icon Menu Icon Arrow Icon Arrow Icon Plus Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Minus Icon HFF Logo HFF Logo

Dept. II - Technology

article_title

“As much technology as necessary, as much creative design as possible,” is the guiding principle behind our technology training at HFF. We never teach technical knowledge as an end in itself, but always with an eye to crafting images and sounds.

At HFF, all our students traditionally begin their studies with a technical introduction to cinematography: It’s important that directors and (line) producers be proficient in the technology of film and television, as well as in their production design elements. Only then can they lead a film crew, creatively realize their film ideas, and convincingly overlook, plan and control their production.

The data in a digital camera, the possible workflows in post-production, the characteristics of a microphone or the color space of a projection system remain mere theory, unless they become sensually tangible. After all, this knowledge for practical application. That’s why all our course elements are dual – theoretical course matter is always coupled with a practical student exercise, with subsequent analysis and evaluation of the results.

In addition to instruction, the Technology department, with its tenured 18-member staff, is also in charge of the entire technical production infrastructure at HFF, from camera rental and post-production to screening-room projection. This integration is unique among film schools. The relocation to our new complex has raised our technical equipment and facilities to a new level: HFF has one of the best media technology infrastructures of any film school around the world.

Menu Icon Menu Icon Arrow Icon Arrow Icon Plus Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Minus Icon HFF Logo HFF Logo
  • / 4

  • / 4

  • / 4

  • / 4

Technik – Abt. II

„So viel Technik wie nötig, so viel Gestaltung wie möglich“ lautet der oberste Grundsatz der Technikausbildung an der HFF. Technisches Wissen wird bei uns nicht als Selbstzweck, sondern immer mit Blick auf die Gestaltung der Bilder und Töne vermittelt.

Das Studium an der HFF beginnt für alle Studierenden traditionell mit der technischen Einführung in die Kinematographie: Regisseure, Produktionsleiter und Produzenten müssen die Technik in Film und Fernsehen sowie deren Gestaltungsmittel beherrschen; erst dann können sie ein Filmteam führen, ihre filmischen Ideen kreativ umsetzen und ihre Produktion souverän überblicken, planen und steuern.

Die Daten einer digitalen Kamera, die möglichen Workflows in der Postproduktion, die Charakteristik eines Mikrofons oder der Farbraum eines Projektionssystems bleiben bloße Theorie, wenn sie nicht auch sinnlich begreifbar werden. Schließlich geht es um praktisch anwendbares Wissen. Daher sind alle Lehrveranstaltungen zweigeteilt: kein theoretischer Lehrinhalt ohne praktische Übung der Studierenden und anschließende Analyse und Bewertung der Ergebnisse.

Neben der Lehre ist die Abteilung Technik mit ihren 18 fest angestellten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, aber auch für die gesamte produktionstechnische Infrastruktur der HFF von der Kameraausleihe über die Postproduktion bis zur Projektion im Kino zuständig. Diese Verzahnung ist für Filmhochschulen einmalig. Die technische Ausstattung hat im Neubau einen höchsten Stand erreicht: Die HFF ist nunmehr eine der medientechnisch am besten ausgestatteten Filmhochschulen der Welt. FKT-Sonderdruck